Back on track in the wellbeing journey

This morning the sun was shining and it was time to get back on track with my wellbeing journey.

I’ve decided to implement the exercise part of my journey now. In the past I’ve always undertaken some form of exercise as part of my lifestyle, though over the last couple of years this has dropped away dramatically. My question to myself was how to get it back on track again and to have it as part of my lifestyle again.

Also, in the past, I have always stated that I dislike exercise, though in saying that I’ve been a member of a gym almost consistently since the late 1980’s, so I have physically disproved that statement through my actions.  The last 4 – 5 years, we’ve had gym equipment at home (now sits just outside the clinic to be a constant reminder) and have used that regularly until the last 2 years.  It’s amazing what gets dropped away when stress, or perceived stress, comes into your life. Okay, I know, I allow it to enter, so now it’s up to me to allow it to leave!

Now that all my visitors have departed, I have wonderful support in my life, and the desire to make lifestyle changes is strong, it’s time to implement another plan.  I keep writing about making plans, so I’m thinking I must be a great planner!!

My plan is to begin slowly, There is a recent study that shows that even though more people are exercising, the rate of obesity is also rising, so exercise alone does not ensure health, a healthy diet is also required, see the reference at the end of this blog.

So my thoughts are to have a healthy eating plan, Tick underway! as well as reintroducing exercise into my daily routine.  At this stage, I want to start slowly, so that I don’t burn out and get too sore, etc, along the way and give up – a typical response to beginning something new, it gets hard and we stop working at it. This plan has to be easy to begin, not too many hurdles to overcome initially, and be beneficial.

The plan is to begin with a morning walk that is at least 20minutes long. I’m lucky to live ina beautiful area that has a very steep (think 20% gradient) road right outside my door!!! At the bottom of this gradient are the local botanical gardens. As you can see a plan is coming together. Walk down the hill, have a great walk around the botanical gardens and then walk back up the hill. Always remembering to be like our bush turkey, Trevor (name adopted from a friend!!), keep doing it, keep putting one foot in front of the other, it doesn’t matter how fast it happens, just that it does.  This walk is about 30 minutes from memory, so the timing is good, the heart rate will be accelerated by the steep climb, and I get the joy of seeing the flowers and plants in the middle of the walk.  Now, cardiovascular work alone is not enough, as strengthening exercises are also required to work the muscles and build lean muscle mass, I have some strengthening exercises that I have undertaken before and know I can easily do on the back deck, using the railing and a chair, no fancy equipment required!

This morning the plan worked!  The walk and the exercises took approximately 40minutes of my time, the sunshine was lovely and the flowers stunning, see some photos below. It’s camelia, rhododendron and magnolia season, what a way to start the day.

Like striped candy this camelia

Like striped candy this camelia

Sunshine in a rhododendron flower

Sunshine in a rhododendron flower

Magnolia tree

Magnolia tree

Reference: Dwyer-Lindgren L, Freedman G, Engell RE et al. Prevalence of physical activity and obesity in US counties, 2001–2011: a road map for action. Popul Health Metr 2013;11:7

Leave a Reply

